Home > networking, News, Social Media, social networking, Sports, update > A personal networking success story: Round 2

A personal networking success story: Round 2

A few months back, I published a post about how I was able to secure a job with Kraft Sports Group through networking. You can read that post here. Well I have used social media to my advantage again and have a new networking success story.

After starting this blog, I decided it would be important to link it with my twitter account (@DanSullivanSM). I started to follow someone with the twitter handle @bosprtsthennow. After we exchanged tweets (retweeting each other and engaging in light twitter conversation), he sent me a message, asking if I was interested in attending his networking event, Blogapalooza. I looked into it more and found it very interesting, so I started to talk to him on facebook. It turned out his name is Joe Gill, the owner of Boston Sports Then and Now.

As we began to chat about the event on Facebook, I started to speak to him about my site. After a few months, the event rolled around and I attended. I was able to speak briefly with Joe at the event and we kept in touch afterwards. We continued to speak via Twitter and Facebook, then eventually LinkedIn.

One day, I asked Joe if he could give me some advice on my site. He was more than happy to help me out and which I was very appreciative of. Joe liked what he saw on my site and soon thereafter, he asked me if I wanted to write him a sports business column for his site. I jumped at the opportunity and I am now a contributing writer at Boston Sports Then and Now.

My first post was published yesterday (on the national site: Sports then and Now). You can read my article: “USA Starts Well at the FIFA World Cup.”

The bottom line here is that networking is so easy to do. It is as easy as engaging in conversation with people through various means of social networking. Just start some conversations and see where they will lead!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment