Home > Event, networking, recap, social networking, Sport Business, Sports > Boston Sports Blogapalooza

Boston Sports Blogapalooza

Today I went to my first real networking event. It was called Boston Sports Blogapalooza and it basically a meeting of the minds of all types of sports bloggers from the Boston area. It was a great experience and everyone was very friendly. I was able to meet tons of people in a great environment (The Baseball Tavern on Boylston Street) and get some tips for improving my practices.

One of the things that I decided to do after attending is to branch off of Dan Sullivan Sport Management with a new blog called Dan Sullivan Sports. I decided to focus more on sports in the new blog, as it is important to find a niche. I was feeling pressured to keep posting something, regardless of the topic, to the sport management blog. This is a poor practice and it is important to find a niche and write towards it, as opposed to just writing to fill space and update.

I met some great people. I met Kisha Tapangan there, who writes a blog called Necessary Roughness with Kisha. Other connections I made are Cornelius, who writes about hockey at Hockey Blog Adventure , Sarah Connors, who writes at Tea Party Throwdown, and Adam Vaccaro, a New England Revolution writer who can be found at Six States, One Blog.  I also was able to meet a few other people, including one of the most interesting people I met all night. His name was George Kippenhan (Kippah) and he writes on a site called TownieNews. The funny thing about George is he is constantly carrying around a life sized cardboard cutout of Tom Brady (aka Brades- George’s BFF). Definitely a character. Hilarious guy.

Myself, Brades and Kippah

I got some great tips and met some awesome people. Things that I gained from this networking event and tips for the future:

-Don’t be shy. Everyone is there for the same reason: to meet people and make connections. Step out of your comfort zone and introduce yourself.

-Bring business cards, so people don’t have to be writing down your information. I luckily had some printed recently and it went a long way, as I handed out a good amount of them.

-Learn from the mistakes others have made. Don’t just think your blog will be different or you are a better writer. Take the advice of other people and apply it to your own work.

-Be open minded towards others’ styles and work. Not everyone is writing about the same things and it is good to look into topics that you don’t always focus on. I found it interesting to hear about the New England Revolution from Adam Vaccaro, which was a nice change of pace from the usual Boston Sports people are writing about.

-Bring a pen.

Overall this was a great experience. I met awesome people and gained tons of constructive tips that will help me in my blogging career. I can’t wait to do it again. Thank you to Joe Gill, who was our host, and The Baseball Tavern.

  1. Adam T. Vaccaro
    May 2, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Great to meet you today, Dan, and good luck. I’ll be checking in on the new blog — keep us posted as to its whereabouts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

