Home > social networking > Article review: “How LinkedIn will fire up your career”

Article review: “How LinkedIn will fire up your career”

How LinkedIn will fire up your career

The link is for an article titled “How LinkedIn will fire up your career,” which is written by Jessi Hempel on Money.CNN.com. It is a great piece expressing the importance of using the networking tool LinkedIn. For those who have never heard of it, LinkedIn is a great way to keep in touch with other professionals who you know and have met in the past. It is a social networking site, similar to Facebook, yet geared more towards professionals. In the article the author has a couple very powerful quotes. “To put a sharper point on it: If you don’t have a profile on LinkedIn you’re nowhere.” He later goes on to say “If you’re serious about managing your career, the only social site that really matters in LinkedIn.” Recently I created a LinkedIn account and have already begun to see the importance and use of it. By joining groups and introducing yourself you can get your name out to a large amount of people. There are so many opportunities to networking it is great. There are countless numbers of groups, geared towards basically any topic. I have joined several groups geared towards Sport Management in the Boston area, along with other groups for local professionals in general. I can already see the difference it has made, as in just a few days, I have made several valuable new connections. I would definitely recommend this article for anyone who is skeptical. The site also works off of using the connections that you are connected with. This is the whole idea of “a friend of a friend.” Take for instance that I am interested in getting a job at a particular company. I can search Jobs on LinkedIn and the results will show all of the employees of that job with profiles. Some of them will have numbers next to their name which dictates their degree. A first degree is someone who is a part of my network (one of my contacts). A second degree would be someone who is a contact of one of my contacts. If I find this particular job, and see there is a second degree contact, one of the tools of the site is I can ask for an “Introduction.” By asking for this, I request an introduction from the contact in my network to the one I am interested in meeting. This method can make it much easier to get connected. Try it out for yourselves! If you want to find my personal profile on LinkedIn, it can be found at the bottom of this post. Feel free to add me to your network or send a message with any questions, concerns or comments.

Enjoy the article and tell me what you think. There will be more to come!

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/dan-sullivan/18/5b/a0b

(copy and paste the link above into your web browser to view my LinkedIn profile)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

